The answer to a prayer

John lived down in the valley by the river. One day, after very heavy rain, the river burst its banks and flooded the valley. The ground floor of John’s house was soon under water and he had to run upstairs. He leaned out of the window and watched the water rising. “Please God” he prayed “Save me from this terrible flood”

A rowing boat came along and a man called out to John “Get into the boat and I will row you to safety”

“No thank your” John replied “I will stay here, God will save me”.

The water continued to rise and John had to scramble up on to the roof. “Please God” he prayed “Save me from this terrible flood”.

As he was clinging to the chimney pot a helicopter hovered overhead. A man called out “I am sending down a rope. Grab hold of it and I will winch you up to safety”.

“No thank you” John replied “I will stay here. God will save me”

The water continued to rise and John was swept away from the roof. He struggled in the water and began to sink. “Oh God” he cried “Why did you not answer my prayers? Why did you not save me?”

As he went down for the third time he heard God say “Well I sent you a rowing boat and a helicopter, what more did you expect?”

One thought on “The answer to a prayer

Leave a Reply

