A Special Anniversary

This year we are celebrating 650 years of Justices of the Peace.  On 20th September I shall be giving a talk on the history of JPs as part of an exhibition to mark the anniversary, at The Eastbourne Heritage Centre.

I have given talks on the subject many times but I think this will be the most exciting.  I shall be taking my audience back beyond the 650 years to the year 1264 when Keepers of the Peace, the forerunners of Justices of the Peace, were established by Simon de Montfort after the Battle of Lewes. Simon de Montfort has been called the father of the English Parliament, but it is not so well known that he was also the father of the English Judiciary system.

I have to say that lady JPs are still eight years short of their first centenary.  I hope there will be similar celebrations in 2019.

Leave a Reply

